Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has recently faced profitability issues based on the use of

Chemical X in its manufacturing process. The main by-product produced when using Chemical X is

covered under stringent environmental regulations, making it very difficult and expensive to dispose of. A

similar processing product, Chemical Y, has recently been discovered, and can be used by Cot-Ten at a

minimal cost of switching. The CEO of Cot-Ten has declared that the company will increase profits by

switching to Chemical Y by the end of the month.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that by switching from "Chemical X" to "Chemical Y" in its manufacturing process, Cot-Ten will be able to increase profits. Stated in this way the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. The conclusion of the argument relies on assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. There may be several other factors impacting the company's revenue or the cost of Chemical Y may be much higher than the cost incured by the company on COGS of Chemical Y in comparison to the cost price and disposal cost of X. Hence, without these evidence the argument is weak and unconvincing.

Firstly, the argument readily assumes that the disposal cost of Chemical X is the primary cause for decline in profitability of the company. This statement lacks evidence by which one can come to a conclusion that it is the primary cause in for declining profit and not increase in raw material cost or increase in production cost or may be decline in market share/sales of the company's product. There may be a case that the profitability of the company has gone down due to increase in Cost of Goods(Raw Materials) or increase in production cost due to sudden increase in electricity charges. In such a situation the disposal cost of the chemical X may not be the main culprit and switching from Chemical X to Chemical Y will not help in increasing profit. The argument could have been much clear if it explicitly stated that the cost of disposal of Chemical X is the primary cause of decline in profit, then we would have been able to reach to a conclusion.

Secondly, the argument claims that there is a minimal cost of switching from Chemical X to Chemical Y. This again lacks information regarding cost of the product, disposal cost of Chemical Y or cost on machinery required to substitute the Chemical X with Chemical Y. If the COGS of chemical Y is much higher than X or cost of machinery required for the switch and its cost of disposal is much higher than the saving the company will be able to attain with the switch then the company will instead loss more money thereby decreasing the profit. Also, the term "minimal" used by the author in the argument is in itself an ambigious one and without proper defination or a number associated with it, it would be hard to determine the impact(cost) of the switch. The author may mean few dollars to few thousand dollars by minimal, so it would be hard to evaluate the case without explicit defination or number( dollar value).

Thirdly, there may be some side effects or decline in product quality by switching from Chemical X to Chemical Y. If such is the case than the product quality will be at toss and the company will loss its customer and thereby its market share may decrease. This may then hit company's revenue and lead to a decline in its profitability. So, without proper information on effect of the switch on product quality the argument can not be evaluated properly to reach a conclusion.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed for the above mentioned reason and is therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if author clearly mentioned all the relavant facts such as the primary cause of the decline in profitability, COGS of Chemical Y as compared to Chemical X and effect of the switch on product quality. Without these information the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.