Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has recently faced profitability issues based on the use of

Chemical X in its manufacturing process. The main by-product produced when using Chemical X is

covered under stringent environmental regulations, making it very difficult and expensive to dispose of. A

similar processing product, Chemical Y, has recently been discovered, and can be used by Cot-Ten at a

minimal cost of switching. The CEO of Cot-Ten has declared that the company will increase profits by

switching to Chemical Y by the end of the month.

The author states that Cot-Ten company recently faced profitability with the use of chemical X which is expensive to dispose. So, the company decided to substitute the chemical X with the newly discovered chemical Y. However, the proposal contains some flaws and will not be accepted if the conclusion fails to answer some question. Moreover, the questions draw some critical assumption which is important to draw an accurate conclusion.

Firstly, the author claims that the chemical Y is minimum cost of disposing of than chemical X. But, chemical Y may be harmful to the environment and company Cot-Ten does not take any step to investigate on the chemical Y how it harms the environment. Moreover, without proper investigation dispose of any chemical may harm humans health which could not see immediately but works insidiously. Thus, company should more research on chemical Y before disposing of.

Secondly, for disposing of chemical Y the total cost is not shown by the author and also the chemical X. However, chemical Y is newly discovered by company and need to more awareness among the employee of the company before use. So, the company needs to arrange a workshop or training program for the employee and various different infrastructure to increse the adaptability of the chemical Y. For this problem, the company needs to more accurate calculation on the cost. So, this assumption is undermining the proposed statement.

Moreover, the CEO did not mention the production of the cotton. It might be possible that chemical Y is harmful to the production of cotton. Then the company will face profitability issue. It is important to more analysis to chemical Y on the production. It is also possible that chemical Y effects the overall production of the cotton and creates more injurious or poisonous gas in the environment. So, CEO needs more clarification on the chemical Y.

To conclude that the overall hypothesis is very interesting but it has some critical flaws and without correction, it cannot be accepted. So, more information is reqiured to validate the statement.