Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has recently faced profitability issues based on the use of

Chemical X in its manufacturing process. The main by-product produced when using Chemical X is

covered under stringent environmental regulations, making it very difficult and expensive to dispose of. A

similar processing product, Chemical Y, has recently been discovered, and can be used by Cot-Ten at a

minimal cost of switching. The CEO of Cot-Ten has declared that the company will increase profits by

switching to Chemical Y by the end of the month.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and

explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the statement, the CEO of Cot-Ten declared that the company will increase its profits by switching to Chemical Y from Chemical X by the end of the month. Here, the question arises on what basis the CEO declares that profit will be increased as no such clear information has been provided. Additionally, in the statement there is no mention that Chemical Y is not having any environmental regulations on it. So, directly reaching to the conclusion of switching to Chemical Y to increase profits of the company being with lack of information is hard to consider.

Secondly, another question to the statement is whether the product made by using this new chemical Y had been reviewed or not and also the statement made by the CEO is on the basis of discovery or on the basis of product manufactured by new Chemical Y. Further, the question is whether the same product can be manufactured with the new Chemical Y as it was manufactured with Chemical X. And what is the probability that the product manufactured with new Chemical Y will not be costly and in that case it will be brought by only a number of customers. As a consequence, it seems that the profit of the company will not increase as early as stated by the CEO of the company.

In addition to it, again the query arises if the manufacturing unit of Cot-Ten is familiar with this new Chemical Y or they need to be trained that how to use the new chemical carefully increasing the time of manufacturing the product, as a result the increase in profits of the company cannot be seen as early as the CEO suggested.

Besides, what will happen to the stock already been prepared and how it will be disposed off? If it cannot be disposed from now, then with this kind of huge loss how CEO can declare the increase in profit by the end of the month.

Hence, leaving on the conclusion that switching of the new Chemical Y seems too early with this little information as provided by the author. And CEO and the company need to look towards broader and future aspects of this decision to actualize the decision in a more profitable way for the company.