Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has recently faced profitability issues based on the use of

Chemical X in its manufacturing process. The main by-product produced when using Chemical X is

covered under stringent environmental regulations, making it very difficult and expensive to dispose of. A

similar processing product, Chemical Y, has recently been discovered, and can be used by Cot-Ten at a

minimal cost of switching. The CEO of Cot-Ten has declared that the company will increase profits by

switching to Chemical Y by the end of the month.

The argument states that Cot-Ten, a cotton production company, has faced profitability issues because of a by product obtained from chemical X, which is expensive to dispose off. Hence, in order to increase profits, the argument states that Cot-Ten should switch to chemical Y. While the argument may seem probable, and logical, many pieces of information needs to be collected and analyzed before taking the decision.

The argument states that the by-product produced when using chemical X, is covered under stringent environment regulations, and hence it is difficult and expensive to dispose. However, what exactly will be the effect of that by-product on the environment? By finding the exact effects, it may be possible to add something to the by-product which will make it easier to dispose and environmental friendly? Also , is there a possibility of using the by-product in manufacturing another product? More research needs to be done.

Furthermore, the argument states that the new chemical Y, which has been recently discovered, can be used in place of chemical X. But how exactly will the by-product of chemical Y react with the environment? Because if it reacts in a similar way, then it would not make sense to switch. Also the argument states that the new processing material Y is similar to processing material X, but it is not the same. How will the new processing material affect the quality of the products produced by Cot- Ten? Will the customers accept the new products?

Additionally, the argument states that the switch from processing material X to processing material Y will be done at a minimal cost. However, from where will be the money obtained from? Will it be financed through a loan? If yes, then when will the loan be paid off? Also to what extent will this switch affect the profitability of the company? Also, will the employees require training about the different ways the new material will be used in the process?

The idea presented in the argument is a good one. However the argument is full of flaws, which needs to be filled up by finding the answers to the above questions.