Cot Ten a cotton production company has recently faced profitability issues based on the use ofChemical X in its manufacturing process The main by product produced when using Chemical X iscovered under stringent environmental regulations making it ver

Based on the discovery of a new chemical, Chemical Y, the CEO of Cot-Ten decides that the company should switch from Chemical X to Chemical Y because the former produces a by-product which falls under stringent environmental regulations making it difficult to dispose off. There are some assumptions that have been made without providing any evidence which undermines the plausibility of the conclusion.

Firstly, the CEO of Cot-Ten states that Chemical X produces a by-product which is costly to dispose off, so the company should make a switch to the new chemical, Chemical Y. There isn't any evidence provided which makes sure that Chemical Y will not produce the same by-product during cotton production. The CEO of the company should provide this evidence before making the switch or else the whole purpose of switching to Chemical Y is defeated. It will be futile to switch in case Chemical Y produces the same by-product.

Even if it is proved that the new chemical will not produce the same by-product, it must also be proven that switching to the new chemical will not cause any other serious side effects. These include, but not limited to serious health issues and release of other foul-smelling by-products and fumes. The new chemical maybe noisome and may cause other health problems to the workers. Moreover, it is not evident from the prompt that the quality of cotton produced by the new chemical will be at-par with the quality of the cotton that was produced earlier by using Chemical X. Decline in the quality of the cotton produced may cause a meteoric decrease in the sales and may cause more harm than good. If the CEO can provide evidence that the new chemical will not cause serious maladies and the quality of the cotton will be comparable to the quality of the cotton earlier manufactured, only then should the CEO consider to switch to Chemical Y.

The prompt mentions that a new chemical, Chemical Y has been discovered that can be used but doesn't mention if it necessarry to choose Chemical Y. Is there any other chemical, other than Chemical X and Chemical Y that can be used for cotton production? There must be a lot of other cotton manufacturing companies and it is probable that they may be using some other chemical to produce cotton which may not be producing the same by-product, has similar cost, doesn't have any side-effects, doesn't cause harm to the people working with it and produces comparable quality cotton. If the author cannot provide evidence against this, then the company should not switch to the new chemical.

It is clear that because of the above-mentioned reasons, there are a number of serious assumptions that have been and evidences must be provided in order to bolster the argument. The author needs to provide evidence that Chemical Y will not produce the same by-product, it will not be detrimental to the health of the workers, it will not deteriorate the quality of the cotton produced and cause further plunge in the sales, and that there is no other chemical that can be used. If the author is able to provide evidence against all this, then the CEO should switch to the new chemical, Chemical Y. Without providing evidences against this, the author's argument is bereft of critical foundation.