Government funding for purely scientific endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to direct more funding toward humanitarian science projects.

The speaker states that funding for purely scientific endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to direct more funding toward humanitarian science projects. Purely scientific endeavor’s has resulted in increase of our knowledge of the world, because of which we are able to build things that will help advance as species. Hence, I disagree with the author that funding for purely scientific endeavors should be reduced to direct more funding towards humanitarian science project.

We all remember when former president John F Kennedy rallied the whole country for the moon exploration program. This project was then funded by the government, which was undertaken by NASA. In order to make this project successful scientist at NASA invented many things such as welcro, which are commonly used today. Through probes send by Chandrayan-1, we came to know that there is water on moon. This knowledge about various resources came to be known to us only because of scientific endeavors. There are even plans by certain companies to extract resources from various asteroids in the future. This resource which we will obtain in future would never have been possible if scientific endeavors were not undertaken.

Scientific endeavors not only helps us collect knowledge about the world, it also helps create a sense of interest amongst the younger generation, who then out of curiosity, will undertake even more advance projects. For example, Elon Musk, who runs a space exploration company SpaceX, has often attributed his inspiration for such endeavors to astronaut such as Neil Armstrong. Also such scientific endeavors has resulted in creation of many jobs which have in turn has been profitable for economy.

But, ofcourse, in case of emergency or a natural disaster funding for such scientific endeavors would be reduced and indeed rightly so. During such a tribulation, it is important to direct resources to those in need. However, if there is no such emergency, it would be foolish on our part to stop such scientific endeavors which has resulted in advancement of the entire human species.

To sum up, scientific funding should be reduced only in case of exigency. However if there is no such difficult situation then there should be no reduction in funding for scientific endeavors.