Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

The author states that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field. I disagree with the view of author that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

College is a highly competitive environment. Everybody that comes to college wants to succeed and come out on top. In such a scenario a student can perform his best only when he enjoys his studies. And the only way to do that is by selecting the field of study which he likes. If a student dislikes his field of study, then overtime he may lose the motivation to study and work hard. This may ultimately result in wastage of time, money as well as other resources. Even if a student manages to scrap by his time during college and works hard, gets a job, will he be happy? Over time such a decision will lead to decrease in efficiency and productivity and only lead to regret. College education is not cheap nowadays. If a student fails to perform at college, then he will struggle in order to pay off the student loan. Hence to avoid such a situation in future, a student must study a subject that he likes and can excel at.

People might say going to college is of no use, if you cannot find a job at the end of your education. But one should do well to remember that in order to succeed and find a decent job a person has to have good knowledge of that field. A student’s field of liking may have lesser number of jobs as compared to other fields which he dislikes but has more job’s, however will he excel at a job that he dislikes? No. If a student selects his field of liking and struggles at a start then that is fine, but over the years hardwork that he has put in and experience he has gained will reap rich dividends of happiness and prosperity.

Hence, In order to succeed, college students should select a field based on their liking rather than selecting a field, which might have more number of jobs but the student will find difficult to excel in.