The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The argument stated in the letter says that if skateboarding is prohibited in the central plaza then the business will return to previously high levels. While the argument may seem logical and probable, many more information needs to be gathered before taking a decision.

The argument states that business has been declining steadily for the last two years and skateboarding has increased dramatically. It further adds that many store owners believe that decrease in business is due to increase in number of skateboarders. However the stated belief is not bolstered with figures. It may be the case that business may be decreasing because of a new store opened nearby central plaza which may be selling better quality items with cheaper rates compared to the store owner. So a survey should be conducted to figure out the reasons for decrease in business.

Additionally, it may also be possible that only a few store owners believe that the business has been decreasing because of the dramatic rise in skateboarding. Hence data regarding how many store owners believe the above argument needs to be found.

The argument further states that there is an increase in litter and vandalism. On what basis does the argument state that there has been an increase in litter and incidents of vandalism?A research needs to be done before coming to an conclusion. In additionit further adds that by prohibiting skateboarding, business will increase to previously high levels. How will prohibiting skateboarding result in increase in businesses? Rather it might be the case that because of skateboarding activities the number of families visiting central plaza might have increased. This may be because skateboarding provides a past time for kids while parents carry out shopping. Thus more information needs to be gathered.

To sum up, the above questions need to be answered by conducting research before going ahead with the recommendation of prohibiting skateboarding in central plaza.