Topic: The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The argument in the memo cites a report of the marketing department and states that in order to make people more aware of super screen produced movies, they should allocate a greater share of total budget to reach public through advertisement. While the argument may sound logical and probable, many questions need to be answered before going ahead with the decision.

The argument states that fewer people attended Super screen produced movies than in any other year. This may have the case because of a new competitor who produced better quality movies? Or because super screen produced movies are screened at fewer locations as compared to previous year? Or maybe, People did not attend because they found super screen produced movies too expensive? More factors should be analysed before drawing a conclusion.

The argument further states that the percentage of positive reviewers increased. However, what exactly was the percentage increase in the number of positive reviewers? For example, if all other movie production companies had there positive reviewers percentage increase by ten as compared to super screen produced movies whose positive percentage reviewers increased only by a factor of two, then it would not be such a advantage. Also, how many people reviewed the movies? Because if only a few reviewers gave feedback in comprison to other companies, then the number may not represent the entire real picture.

Furthermore, the argument states that in order to increase public awarness, more udget should be allocated for advertising. However, if more budget would be allocated, then the company may reduce the quality of the movies, by decreasing the amount of funds? Or the company may have to let go of their highly skilled people, to compensate for the increased allocation of its budget to advertising? More research should be carried out before taking any decision.

The idea that argument presents is good. But it is full of holes and flaws which has to be filled up by answering the questions stated above. Thus, only after conducting the required research that is necessary to answer the question, should the decision be taken.