Government funding for purely scientific endeavors, such as space exploration, should be reduced in order to direct more funding toward humanitarian science projects.

Technology has taken us sky high, literally. Space exploration is an example of that. People have reached moon and studied the farthest of farthest galaxies with the help of space technology. It takes adroit human resource and mammoth amount of funding behind a single space exploration and all these funding come from government bodies who gets it from taxes paid by the people of the country. Sure, it consumes major chunk of the taxes we have paid and it does put the humanitarian science projects such as building better infrastructure, repairing the roads to a stake but space research is salubrious in the long run.

For instance, a lot of man-made satellites revolve around the earth which makes our day-to-day task effortless. Today, if we are lost in an unknown city, all we need to do is turn on the GPS navigation system on our mobile and our phone will connect itself to the nearest satellite which will guide us to the desired location. Not just that, it helps us connects to our loved ones who are miles away from us through a telephone call.Our voice simply gets converted into electrical signals and reaches the nearest satellite which would get transferred to a location which is miles away from us.

When it comes to spying, satellite play a prominent role. It helps us to understand the movement of enemy country which eventually assist us in preparing for war beforehand. Imagine the number of attacks or harms an enemy country could do had we not been analyzing their movements?

Scientists these days also carry forward their research on long term planning such as building habitable environment on another planet in case earth is not safe in the near future. Sure these are not the problems we face today or in the coming years but we can't limit our thinking to the problems faced in next coming decade or two.

Yes, i do agree that copious amount of money is invested in space exploration but the returns is as huge as the investment. These returns indirectly helps in humanitarian science projects. Today, government won't be able to build good roads or even warm people of that upcoming storm had expensive satellite not been hovering around earth and predicting the climate change. At the same time it should not be such that government spend superfluous amount of its fund on space exploration and save an inconsiderable amount for humanitarian projects. It should plan it's budget properly and it should also keep in mind how developed or underdeveloped our country is. Putting gargantuan amount of money in space exploration by a developing country would be bad for its economic growth.

Hence, based on cogent budget carried out for the future government should accordingly invest in space and humanitarian work.