Claim: In order to help small businesses thrive, government should play a minimal role in private business matters

Author claims that government should minimally interfere in private business matters of small companies with an intention to support and help them burgeon. Small business have hard time surviving against giant MNCs. To top it all, tax policies and paper work done to form a business makes it arduous. Hence, i agree that minimal support from government to help small business grow would benefit not only the small companies but also the economy of the country.

One of the major problem a small business face is competing against giant MNCs. Take example of Walmart and any small company. When a Walmart opens in an area, it lures a great deal of crowd by offering discounts or selling goods at a price cheaper than current market rate which Walmart could afford because they import goods in bulk unlike small companies. Not just that, big companies have massive marketing team which could help publicize the company as well as their goods. A small company is deprived of such privileges. Stringent tax policies, tedious paper work to set up a business and minimal interest shown by investors to invest in small companies exacerbates the matter. Eventually, due to paucity of customers, these companies go out of business.

What government could do to support businesses in their rudimentary stage is that, it could implement certain policies which could directly benefit these companies. Policies such as alleviating the paper work, exempting tax policies for companies which are just few years old and introducing loan schemes exclusively for start-ups. It could also provide a common platform for direct interaction between companies and investors or organize a competition at national level only for small business and whoever comes up with the best business model is awarded with certain price. This could motivate small business to think innovative. By limiting the multiplication of MNCs would not only cut down competition for small business but also preclude money to go out of country.

Such minimal changes would not only benefit small business to burgeon but also help in economic growth. When citizens start buying indigenous goods, it assuages the burden on importing goods from outside. Small companies when make it big could attract foreign investors. Skilled labors would not be outsourced to other countries in search of jobs. Expansion in business also means expansion in technology and research which could help in making the country technologically advanced and one of the finest example of such expansion is companies like Google, Microsoft and Apple. These companies were once start-ups formed mostly in garages but today they have their mark in most of the countries in the world with world-class office infrastructure and mammoth revenue generated every year.

All in all, government support in expansion of small business would eventually yield satisfactory returns for the country and increase the standard of living as well as job vacancies for citizens. Hence government should support small business thrive.