Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Thanks to great minds like Newton, Charles Babbage, Steve Jobs today, our lives are much simpler compared to our ancestors. People can communicate to their loved ones who are miles away through telephone or watch their favorite soccer game just by turning on the television. Right from the way we commute to the way we work, everything has been automated due to burgeoning technology. So, when author claims that technology has simplified our lives, I agree on to it but technology has done very minimum to complicate our lives. This will be exemplified further.

Before talking about the demerits of technology, lets talk about the merits. Today, when we look around, we see airplanes flying, cars for our daily commute, cell phones for our communication which has indeed made the world a better place to live in. There was a time when our precursors used to travel by foot or on animals to distant cities which used to consume ample amount of their time just in travelling and not just that, technology has advanced so much in the field of medical science that one can expect better life expectancy. In earlier days, when one suffered from even a minor thing like fever, there were a good chance of dying let alone deadly diseases like cancer. People used to suffer from polio till the time cure for polio was not found. As human advanced, with every new invention, the quality of life just kept on becoming better. Think about the time when early man first discovered fire, before that man used to just survive on raw food or that time when they invented the wheel, one of the greatest invention of mankind, life become simple for transportation. In this way, over a period of centuries,right from inventing the steam engine to airplanes and even rockets for space exploration, man has managed to augment technology and make their lives simple. There is no limit to augmentation of technology.

Moreover, in today's world, technology has just not contributed in better quality of living but also helped us secure a job to meet our daily expenses, a country's growth is proportional to its technological advancement and also to carry out trade with other nation which has impacted in globalization. So, technology has not just helped us in terms of better health care facility or ease of living but also in terms of economic growth and to maintain harmony among one another.

But, as one say, every coin has two faces, technology to has it's demerits. With all the ease of living and better facility, there are some disadvantages. People are so involved in augmentation of technology that they are mostly thinking about their work. Parents spend less time with their children compared to our ancestors, teenagers are mostly busy in their phones and barely communicate with one another. Eventually, they get involved in nuisance like pornography or get bad influence from someone on the internet. Not only that, it is so easy to spread rumors and create discordance. Teenagers can also commit suicides under the influence of someone on the other end of the screen.

All in all, technology has surely made our lives better than never before and mankind will continue augmenting it. The negative aspects can be met through proper guidance and training.