The following is a memorandum from the business manager of television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period most of the complaint received were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contract with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenue, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The author claims that the late-night news program is focused more on national news and less on weather news. He further claims that due to this reason, viewers have complains regarding the coverage of weather news. Further, he claims that advertising revenue has started dropping due to this reason and thus weather news should be given more priority. I would like to point of few flaws below which author neglected.

Firstly, author claims that the late-night news program is directed more towards national news and less towards weather news but the reason could be because the weather news does not take alot of time. Giving priority to weather news might mean wasting time as weather news be it on any channel requires a few minutes while it takes ample amount of time covering national news. Author also claims viewers are complaining as weather news is given less priority but author fails to mention what were these complains. The complains might be regarding weather news not shown as much as national news but an indepth study might reveal that the viewers were actually complaining about weather news being shown at inappropriate time as majority of the viewers prefer watching weather news during the day time and the news channel might be only showcasing weather news in their late night program when most of the viewers are fast asleep. Weather news is mostly important during the daytime specifically in the morning when working class viewers head out for work as this gives a prior notice to viewers about how much time one will take today to reach their respective workplace but as it is shown at night, it might be of a little use to the viewers. Another reason could be that the weather news is not correct or the weather man is givng irrelavant weather information or maybe he/she is not proving the weather news of local area but of the whole world which local viewers are hardly interested in. In addition to this, author fails to mention how many viewers have complained not to forget how many viewers like to watch the national news at night. A proper survey was not conducted regarding the liking and disliking of national news. Chances are it might reveal that a handful of viewer are complaining while the ones who like national news might not me sharing their valuable feedback.

Moreover, author blames the dropping down of adventisment revenue to weather news being shown less as compared to national news. Author has no proof for the reason of low advertising revenue being the reason mentioned above. It could be because the news is showcased at night which yields low TRP as most of the viwers prefer watching any sort of news in the morning hours and hence the overall news watchers are less due to the timing or it could also be because the quality of news is bad. The news channel might be showcasing trival information which is irrelavant to viewers or the news reporter is bad at delivering the news hence people are not interested in his news channel.

Thus, from the above points mentioned, one can conclude that author failed to highlight many important points regarding the number of complaints and low advertising revenue generated.