In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

The author claims that in order to prevent road accidents on highway, Prunty County should take up the plan which Butler County followed and that is to increase the width of the road, improving the visibility at dangerous intersection as there was no change in no of road accidents by limiting the speed from 55 miles per hour to 45. I would like to argue and point out few flaws based on the argument given below.

First, author assume that the problem of road accidents would be solved by increasing the length of the roads and improving visibility at dangerous intersections as Butler County benefitted through this five years ago. However, such might not be the case with Prunty County. The author did not carry out any survey to prove that the reason for road accidents is due to narrow roads and other issues related to road. Such might not be the case as Punty County might be having enough space for the roads and just because if worked out for Butler County, does not mean it would work out for Punty County plus author failed to see that such was the case for Butler County five years ago. Things might have changed in present scenarios. There could be numerous reasons for road accidents which would not be related to infrastructure of road such as, youngsters carrying out bike races on highway as highways gives perfect space for such a game or their might be case of drunk driving as the drivers may tend to drive in an irrational manner when drunk. Punty County might not be tapping over the drivers on the highways or punty county may have the highway were major trucks passes by and as trucks tend to move slower compared to cars who are coming in fast pace, they might dash into trucks. Chances are the truck drives might falls asleep while driving and lose control. This could also be one of the major reason of accidents on highway.

Moreover, author pointed out that Punty County has lowered the speed limit from 55 to 45 miles. However, speed might not be the reason for accidents. If people do not have driving sense then they are bound to dash into someone. They might not on their indicators while overtaking or give any sort of signals. Author failed to cover these point. Author also states that from the reports on highway patrol, it is said that the speed limit is exceeded. This could be because 45 miles might be slow speed while driving on highways. Accidents might happen if driver drives the car slowly hence lowring the speed limit might not lower the accident rate, infact, it might exacerbate the situation.

Another reason could be that, highways of Punty County might be going through tummels which is prone to accidents. Author failed to metioned the geography of Puntry County. Chances are accidents might happen during a certain season for example only in winters due to slippery roads. In such case, increasing the width of the roads would be a waste of money.

Hence, from the above points it can be concluded that author forgot to mention few points such as carrying out a survey behind real reason of road accidents in Punty County and thus carrying out similiar plan like Butler County might be a wasteful investment.