The fact that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures that can afford the technology creates cultures of excess consumerism.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

I agree with the statement that technology is outpacing the needs of those in cultures. As it has become the part of everyday life of the people and with more money in pockets (as well as in the market) and with increased needs because of easy-day lifestyle of people more and more new technology is created day by day. Yesterday, it was a feature phone in the hands of the people but today everyone has got new smart phones with similar technology as present in a computer which saves time by browsing things immediately when needed instead of waiting to reach home for the search of that thing on computer. The mobile phones are also lighter in weight. Hence, easy to carry place to place adding one more benefit to the smart phone which is not possible with computers such as desktops.

Every day the need of new phones, new software and new apps is the need created by technology which can be seen as addiction since people seems to have a kind of uncontrollable urge to buy them. So, we can say that the new drug for present generation is not opium and heroin but technology. While, it is also true that those who can afford it are more responsible for its excess consumerism. Because during present era where present generation gets easily attracted to each other’s things mostly new ones are also easy to get addicted (with the indulgence of those friends who are already the part of this addiction such as drug addicts). For example, when a lad of rich man buys a new phone than a lad of middle class man also insist his father to buy the same phone to maintain or increase his status among his friends. It shows a kind of addiction for technology to maintain the status.

However, the technology has (maybe) created the need of technology but vice-versa is also there that the needs of human beings are also responsible for new technologies. For example, the need of electric scooters and cars occurred due to limited fuel and its high prices and fear of its extinction in near future. Nevertheless, technology which has been brought before time such as induction or gas- stove brought in India in 20th century can’t remain in the market as people didn’t accept it due to their lack of awareness at that time. Hence, we can say that every time the technology is not responsible for outpacing the need of technology in the people.

Furthermore, talking about the excess consumerism of technology as author states- has its negative effect on the people who are unable to afford it and then they try to get it through wrong practices. For example, some try to steal it or some even murder people just to fulfill their requirements of such needs (of mobile phones, laptops and others). So, it has its ill effects on human health and psychology. With everyday new innovations there more consumption people are becoming more addicted to it. They don’t put any attention to their health. Many a time’s people meet with accidents while using their phones due to severe addiction to it. This addiction of technology made to lose the power of thinking of human beings for their good. The human beings seems to have lost the feelings in relationship as we see two friends sitting in a restaurant don’t talk directly but talk by chatting on phone which seems to make the relationship more mechanic than deliberate.

Moreover, this consumerism is mostly concentrated to a particular generation- the young generation because old people still have love towards their old things and their experience also says that new technology is not good for human health as well as for culture at the same time. In addition to it, technology with new innovations also brought new hacks with it which also needed to be curbed to make people safe with these technologies increasing the need for anti-viruses again showing the example of technology outpacing the need of technology. And validating the dangerousness (in case of leak of personal information) of the technology as the old people says.

Hence, from above claims we can conclude that technology is fulfilling the needs of the human beings and at the same time outpacing the need of technology creating excess consumerism. As the coin have two sides to it. So, the technology has the two effects to it – the negative or positive. But, it wholly depends on the person which effect he faces of the technology by the way he handles it.