Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporations are the essential part of any country and their fundamental principle is to earn money. Besides, the company only working for society without seeking profit is hard to survive. Corporations are of two types- public and private. Public corporations work for society, for example in India,we have BSNL, SAIL (Steel authority of India), ONGC, and Air India. And private corporations are the businesses establishment born to satisfy the urge of founders and their investors for the money, for example, Reliance, Birla, Godrej and the like. All of the public corporations mentioned above are near to their closer. Since, all of these companies working as the sole responsibility towards the society and accounting for huge losses by not even earning the needful money. From the above example, we can easily understand the role of money in the corporate sector.

The private corporations are made to pitch money and attract investors to invest money. This money is invested on those items which will give a good return in response, not on the items from where the yield is zero or negative in number. These companies mostly work for their benefit not for the society. However, company care for people only due to its own interests, it can be a case, when society is providing with four factors of production, such as labor, land, capital and consumers to the company, then in reciprocity company takes care for the development and welfare of those people living in that area. Providing them with good housing facilities, insurance facility, advanced machines, good offers for investment and institutions like schools and colleges to develop skilled labor. Hence, company invests into the long term profit for itself, together with providing benefits to the people.

Furthermore, the corporations filling its legal documents adhere to follow them in good faith. But, what if, the company cheats on the government or the citizens. While, in that case, the government and the people needs to be vigilant and need to become the watchdog to save their assets(labor, land, capital) from any kind of theft and danger such as the corporate frauds, for example, frauds done by Sahara or Nirav Modi.

As well as, expecting “SAVE ENVIRONMENT” from these companies will be a massive foolishness and a huge mistake in understanding their role and their principle, which is to earn money at every cost. Again the point arises about them, that their benefit lies first. Hence, if they found some profit in it then only, they will work upon it. Otherwise, they work under the legal obligations. But, they don’t perform anything as their responsibility towards society and environment. Besides, if companies like Pepsico, Coca-Cola, Kurkure and the others, start campaign in response to save environment, against plastic bottles or the polythene (wrapper or covers) then, they will do their own harm which surely they don’t want to do. As, all of their products usually sold in plastic containers.

Despite all the given facts, the corporations are an important part of the country, providing boost to its economy. Basically, they work for their profit, while for society and environment they work in case of their obscure interest. Still, the power lies with the people and the government to manipulate it in the best way possible.