Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Of late, the society is polarised into two groups almost equally regarding the notion that whether, corporate governance should take the responsibility for the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate or, the only responsibility of corporation is that they make much money as possible in under the law. In my opinion, if corporations want to do or give something to the society then they are not losing their profit, moreover, they will get the

better response from the society.

I agree with the first notion for the various reasons. The first and foremost, company is not run only with the help of Directors or CEO, it also depends on the maneuver employees or labours. So company should try to promote social contribution to the employees. For instance, Reliance Oil Refinery at Jamnagar provides

free accommodation , free education for their children, medical insurance and many more benefits to the employees as well as their family. As a results company gets more support from the worker and after all company reaches it goals and earns the more profit.

Secondly, when corporation take social responsibility and help to society will repay back in their long term run and also win the trust from the society. For example, a massive shoe manufacturing company BATA hired unskilled and unemployed workers for the some places of factory. Train them and make a skilled workers. By done this they got the more profit as well as set up the good example of social contribution. This not only benefited to the company it also lifted up those worker form underprivileged to privileged lifestyle and decrease the unemployment level up to some extent for that particular region.

However, some people think that well being of the society is the only responsibility of the government and corporation only focus on their profit and development of the company. The GDP of the country also depends on the revenue of the company. When corporation generates much more money then government should take more tax from them and its help to the nation. Government allocats the fund for the social activities, public welfare etc., so some people believe that to avoid

the misuse of this fund, only government should take the responsibility of the social contribution.

It can be concluded that, it is not only liability of government for the welfare and well being of the society , corporation should involve to the social contribution. With balance of both the corporation and government, we create well design of the nation. Giant corporate companies makes the more money and profit so they try to contribute to society for their own sake also, in addition they nothing to lose to well being of the society.