Creativity should be used as the only true measure of intelligence.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement of the author that the Creativity is the only measure of intelligence sounds biased. As we know that intelligence is something which can’t be easily defined. It is a word which comprise of lot many things in it such as logic, understanding, self-awareness, learning, emotional knowledge, reasoning, planning, problem-solving and creativity. Here, one question arises that how the author came on the conclusion that the only true measure of intelligence is creativity. It looks like he was ignorant while putting up this claim and made statement without taking everything in consideration.

Further, another question arises that what type of intelligence we are measuring. If, we are measuring an ability of an engineer in JEE exam or a doctor’s ability in NEET exam we will not measure their level of creativity while we will surely measure their quantitative, scientific and logical reasoning. The examiners will certainly not mark them on their cursive writing in these exams as a measure of creativity but on their ability to solve the reasoning problems. Moreover, we can see that in the name of creativity we cannot change the mathematical, scientific and universal facts. Hence, it can’t be the only measure of intelligence.

Creativity can be the source of arts but while doing experiment in science we cannot use creativity by changing the mixture of chemicals which can lead to dangerous results. The creativity of scientists who created nuclear and atom bomb was not a measure of intelligence but the worst measure of destruction. As well as, creativity shown in the movies like Terminator where scientists took creativity too far by creating such robots who tried to overpower humans and take control of earth. These are some of the dangerous and foolish examples of creativity (which can also be seen in future and need to be beware of it). Besides, creativity cannot work in the situation when a shooter is asked to shoot on a definite target then he can’t do it creatively in Bollywood style where hero shoot at the rod and the bullet gets diverted from it and perfectly hits on the villain who is hidden.

However, creativity is the soul of today’s tech market where without everyday innovation no company can survive. For example, when Apple launches iphone 6 then Samsung, oneplus and xiaomi needs to show their creativity as well then only they can dispose off their products in market and remain in this competitive scenario. As well as creativity seen in a child can be good for its mental development. It opens up one’s mind and person begins to think widely. Creativity is like an angel for specially -abled because of which they can walk on their legs and eat with their hands by their prosthetic legs and hands developed by some creative person.

Yet, we can understand from the above examination that not only creativity but knowledge, expertise, observation, flexibility, thought process, practice and experience together makes a person intelligent. With all these characteristics present together in a person, he gets the ability to create something but that creation will be constructive for the civilizations and not destructive as shown in the examples above.

Finally, the conclusion is measure of intelligence should be the ability to apply it during the time of problem and respond in a best way possible to solve them. Intelligence is complicated, difficult to define and nearly impossible to measure concept that nonetheless exists in everyone to some degree or another. Hence, measuring it only on the degree of creativity sounds unwise and seems incomplete when we measure the intelligence of a person. As we know that, we can call a mathematician intelligent but we can’t laud an artist with the word intelligent instead we can praise him with words like creative, inspirational and so on. So, it seems that every measure has its own scope and it can’t take over another measure which is needed to be understood by the author.