Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

The issue of comparing arts with military is a controversial one as both serves different requirement. Military for a nation is its basic requirement from defending itself from militant and invasion/infiltration from other nations. While arts is not a basic requirement but a daily part and parcel of life and it can be taken care by individuals without much support or financial help from governments. Both Military and Arts have its importance in a society but due to above stated reason I will be more inclined towards government spending much more on military as compared to arts.

Firstly, as stated above Military is the basic requirement for any nation as it helps in keeping terror organizations in control and keeping borders of countries safe from infiltration/invasion.Due to a strong military power of a nation and our soldiers who are guarding our borders and keeping us safe from any militant group, we are able to live a normal day to day life happily. This sense of normalcy helps a nation to grow and flourish and became a developed nation. In this situation its pretty obvious that a government should spend more on Military than on Arts.

Secondly, its a very important requirement to have a strong military power to keep militant activities in control to prove itself as a stable nation. This not only help in overall growth of a nation but also attract foreign investment by good bilateral ties with all nations and also help in flourishing in sports and other nation building activities. In recent years we have observed a lot of terror activities in Pakistan and other Islamic nations as the military of the nation is not strong enough to defend their nation and its people from these militant activities. Due to all these reason not only business and growth of the country had suffered but also international sports and other activities.

In conclusion, while some may argue that Arts is as important as good military power in a nation for the overall growth of a nation. But this should not come at a cost of weaker military power of a nation as if a nation is not able to defend itself than having established itself in the field of Arts will not do any good as observed in above mentioned example for Pakistan. Even though Pakistan is very rich in arts and culture like great paintings, very good novels but in today's world its not able to live to its full potential due to unstable situation in the nation caused by weak military power of the nation.