A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer argues that new restaurant that specialises in seafood would be profitable and popular. It is based on the premises that the consumption of seafood has increased by thirty per cent over the last five years, there is no restaurant that has a specialisation in seafood and families are inclined to have healthy food but that is not cooked at home. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unverified evidences and logical flaws.

First such evidence is the analogy between willingness of families to have healthy food and expectations of families that seafood is healthy. However, there may be the case that families considered only few types of seafood healthy but loathe majority of the seafood because they have excessive calories and fat that would make this argument considerably weak. For example, the research conducted by biologists in 2006 in Bangalore, a city in India, covered food preferences of families where both husband and wife were working. The study concluded that only 2 out of total 16 types of seafood, that were available in the market, were considered salubrious. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should collect the evidences from market research study for the types of seafood that are considered as healthy by these families and should also prove that families are willing to have those seafood that would be served by this new restaurant.

Secondly the writer’s argument is incorrectly based on the analogy between popularity and profitability. However, there may be important differences that restaurant is popular because it provides the most inexpensive meal but it is not profitable that would make such comparison irrelevant. For example, the research conducted by Boston Consulting Group in 2012 covered restaurants that were operating on large scale such as McDonald, Pizza Hut and Dominos etc. concluded that although these restaurants were popular because they were offering the best deals but because of large customer base with low prices, they were not making any net profit but were surviving because of deep pockets of their owners. Therefore, to make the argument more valid, the writer should compile evidences from market research that families would be willing to buy healthy seafood at prices acceptable to the companies and should also assert that the new restaurant would keep attracting these families at such higher rates.

Finally the writer has arbitrarily assumed the cause of viability of the new restaurant is the absence of competitors. However, it is possible that the families are currently placing orders with the restaurants that operates on home-delivery methods though they were operating on different locations which would make the argument unreliable. For example, the recent surge in home-delivery methods in India has led to the closure of many restaurants that were opened in the proximity of the residential areas with the hope that consumers would buy food from the nearby restaurants. But as internet grows and it has reached to the masses, consumers started to order food from far locations that offered healthy food at the best prices. Therefore, to make the argument more reliable, the writer should assemble the evidences from field research that people are looking for a restaurant in the city and should also demonstrate that this new restaurant would fulfil their demand at competitive prices.

After close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unverified evidences. The recommendations show in the above paragraphs how this argument may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed measure.