The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president argues that his company must install monitoring device on the computers of employees in order to prevent personal use of computers such as for shopping. It is based on the premises that it would increase their productivity, prevent them from wasting time and improve profits of the company. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unstated assumptions and logical flaws.

First such unstated assumption is that the cause of limiting or inhibiting their productivity is employees’ use of computers for personal use. However, there may be the case that not all employees are browsing internet for shopping and recreational activities. Instead, some of them may use internet to learn new software package which they can use in the work assigned to them or some of them may also use internet for finding a solution to work related problem. For example, the study conducted by behavioural scientists of an NGO in 2006 in India concluded that companies which are dependent on conducting its business online, employees of such companies use internet to learn computer packages. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the vice president should examine the business structure of the company and the reason as to why employees are using internet.

Second unstated assumption is related to analogy between an employee using his own workstation for work and same workstation for personal use. However, it may likely that though employees use internet during office hours, but when they browse internet for shopping and other non-work related activities they use computers of colleagues in order to protect their identity. It is a human psychology that employees use unscrupulous methods in organizations in order to demean others. For example, the study conducted by Competition India in 2008 concluded that out of 200 companies studied for the use of internet by their employees, in 168 companies employees use computers of their colleagues for non-work related activities. Hence, the vice president must examine the use of computers for work and non-work activities by employees to make the argument more valid.

Finally, the vice president has assumed unstated presumption that profits are related to the time that employees spend on internet and by punishing them, the productivity and profits would rise. However, the claim may not be true since profits are not only depend on the time of employees but also on other factors such as costs of production, the price of the products or services, overheads costs and borrowing costs of the company. And moreover, punishing the employees may have undesirable results since it would create the environment of fear and dominance. For example, the study conducted by Naukri, Human Resources company in India, in 2015 studied 500 large companies which followed stringent rules for employees had concluded that employee turnover ratio is highest in these companies and therefore, these companies incurred huge costs for hiring and training of employees frequently which impacted their profits. Thus, in order to render the argument acceptable, the vice president must examine the correlation between profits and internet use of employees and the likely effect of such punishable steps.

While concluding, after close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on certain unwarranted assumptions. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how it may be strengthened and made more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.