The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the vice president of Crimson industries, the employees are using the Internet for unofficial purposes, thereby reducing their productivity. Tracking of the Internet use electronically is as the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. This recommendation with the supporting statements has a couple of flaws.

Firstly, there is no specific evidence showing the correlation between employees using the Internet inappropriately and decreased productivity. Also, human resources manager fails to consider the other factors that can lead to a decline in productivity. For example, the workers might be having personal problems, or the workers hired are not suitable for the job. The company can get specific evidence by comparing the work done by the workers when the company allows for access to only official websites and when they offer general access together. The result can then be used to decide if monitoring and punishment will be the option to go with.

Apart from the lack of proof of the internet being a detrimental factor in employees productivity, there is no evidence that punishing the workers would lead to change. The punishment might be so light that the workers would not mind going through it over and over as long as long as they get to surf the web however they like. For example, if the punishment for the offender is the removal of one dollar from their monthly salary of two thousand dollars, the offender will not feel the impact. The punishment stated should compel the workers to stick with official internet use.

Lastly, the cost of installing the software might be so much that there is an actual loss in gains of the company. The manager also states that this is the best way to increase productivity. The statement is too broad because there are other methods to increase productivity such as training sessions and provision of more technological advanced equipment for the workers.

In conclusion, the points brought up by the manager are weak. Specific evidence has used to support these points for this to be reasonable and logical.