The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation should be promoted and instilled in young people while having a competitive spirit should not be encouraged. According to the statement, this will prepare them for future leadership roles. I concede that cooperation is a criucial factor in leadership and it should taught right from childhood. However, I believe being competitive is also a valuable atributte to learn to prepare them for future challenges.

At a young age, the brain is more receptive to learning. Teaching children about cooperation through different methods such as group assignments, drama clubs and so on will imbibe the culture of working together in them. They get used to it at a young age and it becomes part of their everyday life. This is going to be useful in their future as leaders because leadership involves working with subordinates and team members. Lack of cooperation by a leader with others in a project can lead to miscommunication, quarrels and team members being reticent when it comes to sharing ideas that could be useful in achieving the project goals.

Additionally, teaching cooperation to younger people teaches them about tolerance. If they experience disagreements with people that hold opposing views in a team project before they become adults, the teachers can educate them ways to handle situations of this type. Experience is the best teacher. A young person being involved in team activities year after year will encounter this problem severally and deal with it accordingly. When this person gets a leadership position in the future, he will be able to tolerate decisions he might not necessarily agree with personally.

Although having a sense of cooperation is important, competition should also be instilled in the younger ones. Before a person gets into a leadership position , there is usually a form of competition involved. For example, to be the president of the United States of America, candidates compete against each other for the position. Competition brings out the best in people so they could outshine their opponents.

In sum, cooperation is a valuable lesson to be learnt starting from a young age. Nevertheless, competition should not be ignored because it can bring out the best in people and this is needed in leadership roles.