The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to the business manager of a television station, the time devoted to weather and local news should be restored, so as to increase their number of viewers and prevent loss of advertising revenue. Although the managers' reason for coming to this conclusion might seem logical, there are crucial evidences that needs to be mentioned to make this argument concrete and reasonable.

First of all, the manager mentions that the local businesses that used to advertise during the late night news have canceled their contract with them. He/she suggests that this is because the time devoted to the local and weather news has reduced. However , there could be other factors that were not mentioned. The businesses could have pulled out due to lack of funds, ineffectiveness of the advertisements bringing in new customers, or the businesses having a new target audience that do not follow the late night news. The manager should rule out all these other possibilities before coming to the conclusion of reduced time being the cause of reduced advertising revenues.

Secondly, the manager says that viewers complained about the coverage of weather and local news. What were the complaints about specifically? Was it about the reduced time? Or was it about news being false? Or was it about the attitude of the reporters of the program? There could be a million other reason for the complaints by the viewers, but the manager assumed it was because of the shortened time. The reason for the complaints should be mentioned to be majorly on the reduced program length to strengthen the managers' argument.

Finally, there is no evidence showing that restoring the time meant for weather and local news will increase the number of viewers. The memorandum does not state that the number of viewers reduced over the past year. It just states that there were complaints, which could be due to different reasons as mentioned above. Also, there is no evidence showing that these complaints were not present before the change in time dedicated to the local and weather news.

In sum, the argument needs to be accompanied with more evidence to make it a reasonable one. There is no guarantee that restoring the time for these programs will prevent the loss of advertising revenues and increase viewers.