"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."Based on a survey conducted by their own marketing department and certain comments by some reviewers, the director made flawed reasoning and drew unconvincing conclusions about the problems responsible for their shrinking market.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production company suggests that the decrease in people watching Super screen-produced movies is due to lack of awareness of their good qualities movies. The director goes on to say the solution to this problem is more funds being allocated to advertising in the coming year. This argument is flawed because important questions that might affect this decision were not raised.

Did fewer people attend the super-screen produced movies screening or did fewer people attend movie screenings in general in the past year? There should be a comparison with movies produced by other companies to see if the reduction is peculiar to Super Screen or if its a general experience in the movie production industry.

In the past year, there was also an increase in the percentage of positive reviews by critics. Was this due to the good quality of the movies? Or could it be that there are more critics available this year to see the movie? The director fails to consider this possibility and concludes that the increase is due to the good quality of the movies. The director should make sure the number of critics seeing their movies in the past year and the number of critics in other years are the same before coming to this conclusion.

Additionally, the director did not consider that there are other vast factors that could be preventing people from coming to see their movies. Their movie tickets may be more expensive than other movie production companies. Another possibility is the movies produced in the past year did not appeal to the public. For example, producing and showing kids movies in a predominantly geriatric neighborhood is not the best decision to attract customers in that community. Suggesting only one factor being lack of adequate advertising and ignoring other factors is unreasonable and makes it seem like he/she wants more money to be pushed to their department.

In sum, the director's reasoning towards the decrease of Super screen movie watchers is illogical. The factors mentioned above needs to be considered before making the final suggestion so a solution that will bring positive change is gotten