Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

“What is economic gain”? The research has shown that economic gain is a complex concept to understand and define covering all the pros and cons for all stakeholders. Therefore, currently it is being studied with the limited perspective i.e., money. The prompt suggests the promulgation of laws preserving the existing wilderness (w) even if gains have to sacrifice. In my view, this policy has positive impact on the human society and I would even support it by proving that it can address the problems created by selfish economic gains. The reasons supporting my views are presented in the following paragraphs.

First of all, w is not something created by humans and since pre-monolithic age scientists have seen disasters due to the harm to these w. For instance, the research has shown that w is an important part of cycles covering all natural things such as human being, animals, river, mountains and trees and bushes. For selfish gains, these had been exploited by humans by cutting trees to maintain a road for transportation and it has resulted in the contamination of under road metals and minerals. Further, the cutting of trees and changing the course of river due to a passage has resulted in the temperatures that is increasing. It used to maintain that which was conducive for any natural thing. Therefore, preserving trees and rivers in the w is not only necessary but mandatory for a human to live. It matters because after all what we are doing will be of no use if no one lives to enjoy the gains.

Secondly, the w is a home to carnivorous, herbivorous and omnivorous animals. The research has shown that there is a limited threat to humans from herbivorous animals but, if the habitat of carnivorous animals is threatened, they tend to move towards the human residential area which may lead to killing and death of many citizens. Further, these habitats consist of small lakes, rivers and tree shelter for them to satiate their natural desire and need. If any of these gets disturbed, it will break the rule and natural cycle of animals which would lead to the mass movement of these to the nearby residential areas in search of food, water and shelter. Hence, their w should remain preserved. It is significant since no one would be willing to savor gains if their own life is threatened.

Thirdly, the w has a source of experimental studies necessary to cure illness. For instance, scientists often gets anti-dote and other chemicals from the species of trees and rare types of animals which help to experiment and manufacture all sorts of drugs and medicines useful for preventing and curing diseases. Further, the w has helped maintain the cycle of seasonal rainfall which is now being changed and hurting the lives of many farmers dependent on these seasonal rains. The destruction of these w for gains has reduced 10 year long run average of rainfall and has resulted in increase of maximum temperature and has also reduced the difference between maximum and minimum temperature, therefore, leading the earth to more hotter environment. Therefore, policy makers not of only one country but also of all should come forward and implement such laws in solidarity. It is appreciable since it is present but not yet realised that our earth is on the brink of severe climate change.

Of course, some would argue that it is not required to spend money on these w when we have to cater the needs of the people who are homeless and have no food to eat. They may say that if these people were to given shelter and free food, it is necessary to cut these w and accommodate these people into the houses build on w. However, they must understand it from different angle and should rather champion that these people would have access to food coming from these w and if these are being damaged, what would have they to eat. And regarding their shelter, if w are altered to their homes, the balance of whole geography will undergo change and it will come back to hound them in the form of natural disasters of which the frequency has already increased. Therefore, the policy of preserving w is going to redress what the damage has been done already to the environment and would promote the well-being in long run.