The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt recommends the listing of home property available for sale with Adams since it sells faster and has offered better selling rates. It cited that by referring to the higher number of agents with Adams and higher average sales of Adams and higher average revenue of Adams. However, the recommendation may not present a cogent case since it is rife with holes and fissures. Before it can be properly evaluated, following unstated assumptions must be tested and verified.

First of all, do higher number of agents with a company mean faster selling at better price? May be not. For instance it may happen that Adams has higher number of agents because it is covering large geographical area and it has wider presence but the sales figures for these agents per square feet/area they are covering is lower than that of Fitch. Further, it is also incorrect to assume that higher number of full time agents would help in getting the good deal. It may not be. For instance, it may likely that these full time agents are shirking their duties by being incapacitated or being sick but part time agents of Fitch are able to get good details for their clients. Therefore, if both the hypothesis are true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, does higher revenue last year denote clients will get good deal always? Of course not! Since it may happen that Adams got higher revenue last year because of few very big deals such as 2 or 3 houses worth millions, however Fitch got lower revenue because it was dealing only in affordable housing. Further, it is also unjustified to assume that higher revenue in last year of Adams would outdo Fitch in coming years and it had outdo Fitch previous 5 years as well. Since it may happen that prior to last year the revenue was much higher for Fitch but due to change in business regulations, it suffered. If both the probabilities are true, then the argument does not hold the water.

Thirdly, does average tell the overall performance? Statistics had proved that average is a misleading figure if data has outliers. Therefore, it may happen that Adams got higher average revenue because it sold few houses worth more than USD 300000 but Fitch got sales of USD 145000 for all the houses. Therefore, Fitch may be more reliable. Further, the time period of 4 month in selling a house 10 years ago may not be comparable to that of last year since it may happen that 10 years ago the economy was going through crisis, and buyers were not in position to buy therefore it took 4 months. But last year because of boom in the economy Adams sold the house in just one month and it may happen that Fitch would have sold the house within 3 days. Therefore, unless the time period and inventory turn out is not fully reliable and comprehensive, it cannot be used effectively to support the argument.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the home owner is able to offer the test results of above hypothesis and offer more evidence perhaps in the form of average revenue per agent and average revenue per size of an area and comparable locations they are covering, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument.