Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

“Do we follow our conscience”? In other words, it is widely accepted that people, be it from any field or from any origin, succumb to the societal pressure and put conscience to rest. Moreover, the rigidity and inflexibility imbibed into the learning processes also work towards suppressing the conscience. The prompt suggests that formal education intends to restrict our free spirit and force us to follow stringent rules. In my opinion, I would strongly agree with the view and would support it by exemplify that formal education by being a mixture of conventional rules and procedures restricts unconventional and iconoclast ideas, thus enclose our spirit in walls. The reasons justifying my view are mentioned in the next following paragraphs.

First of all, does formal education ensure the pinnacle of one’s motive and passion? As per the research conducted on famous or esteemed person in education field, it is shown that these people were not from any formal education system but rather followed unconventional ideas, thus made significant contribution in their respective fields. For example, the famous mathematician of India, Mr. Ramanujan was forced through several procedures to complete his studies in other subjects as well in order to continue his studies in mathematics. His scholarship was cancelled and he was demoted to lower classes for not getting the passing marks in other subjects. However, his spirit in mathematics urged him throughout his life and today he is regarded as one of main contributors to the application of mathematics in physical sciences. Moreover, the example of Mr. Oliver Heaviside also shown that how formal education intended to restrict his passion by not allowing him to attend schools because he was partially deaf. But his incessant desire to study mathematics, made him to address the question of why signals from England to Denmark travelled at a faster rate than those sent from Denmark to England. Therefore, formal education by being a system of fixed and unchanging rules restrict the mind and spirit to find something new.

Secondly, does formal education ensure success in business? Again, here, the research conducted on famous and industrious businessmen showed that these people are known worldwide and employ them who are from formal education system as assistants. For example, the founder of Microsoft, Mr. Bill Gates was a drop out from school because of his erratic ideas on computing and how it can help human beings to process large calculations in a fraction of seconds. However, with the advent of Windows by Microsoft, today everyone in the world uses the tool developed by Microsoft such as Excel, Word and Notepad. His unconventional ideas prevailed. Moreover, the founder of Apple, Mr. Steve Job was also a drop out from school because of his interest in peculiar calligraphy. In fact, at his address to graduates of Stanford, he found to be saying that “previous four years was a complete waste of time”, Do what you love and have the courage to follow your heart since it knows already what you want to become”. Because of his interest in calligraphy, we have access to Mac computers with unique and beautiful typography. Therefore, formal education intended to restrict the innovation and creativity which has a bearing in future.

Finally, does education support arts? Here, the research has shown that arts being a result of imagination and fancy cannot be flourished by being a part of formal education system. For example, today half of the world population is on Facebook and people are sharing their thoughts and views among themselves. It was created by following the errant thought of comparing faces of people but not by any formal education on aesthetics of beauty and features of facial comparison. Further, the Indian famous actor, Mr. Khan achieved myriad accolades for his outstanding performances in different movies and shows. In one of his interviews he corroborated that arts school does not teach someone to act but focus on following the best practices of other established actors, thus, restricting the innovation. Therefore, formal education has a tendency to follow the established path, thus, limit the potential of free will.

Of course some would argue that formal education tends to ensure success by leaving the spirit on its own. However, the proponent of this view must know that spirit gets limited or enclosed by going through the education system. Formal education can guide someone what to follow on the basis of past events, can inculcate morals and principles and can persuade someone to choose a lucrative career, however, it cannot encourage innovation and unconventional ideas because of this inherent system of abiding by the rules whereas innovation and discovery are realised when spirits are free to pursue anything a person wants. Therefore, while concluding, formal education confine the desire and will of students.