The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council predicts that the restriction on the supply of new housing will lead to increase in home prices, if implemented. To support the claim, the council points out to the results obtained when similar policy was implemented in Pine County. Here, the council’s chain of reasoning seems true at first sight, however, it is based on certain unwarranted assumptions about what has happened in Pine 15 years ago and in Chestnut 10 years ago have a bearing on Maple today. Therefore, in order to better evaluate the claim and analyse its logical soundness, additional explanation is required to answer few questions that are foundational to the line of reasoning.

First of all, are Pine and Maple comparable? In other words, the council has assumed that the rise in prices of housing in Pine since the restrictions were applied would replicate on Maple County. However, it may not be the case since, Pine County may be in a situation 15 years ago where no land was in existence or all lands were transformed into housing, therefore, it led to rise in price. However, as the prompt states, there is still some farmland is available for which it is deliberating on its recommendation, thus, prices may not rise at all in the coming years. Further, the council has also assumed that even though the County is being overdeveloped, there is still a demand for housing which may not be the case. For example, it may find that the income level of its citizen is not increasing or they are unwilling to spend more money on housing, thus, restrictions may not lead to rise in prices. Without considering these details, the claim remains unsupported.

Secondly, are period 15 years ago comparable to the present time? In other words, the council has assumed that rise in prices occurred because of implementation of restrictions would result in similar rise even today. However, it may find that conditions that were existed 15 years ago in Pine are different from that of Maple today. For example, the purchasing power of Pine County was rising unprecedentedly and residents had penchant to invest in housing as long term investments, therefore, led to price rise. However, the condition of Maple today may be such that residents are moving out of it since there are no more opportunities exists for jobs, industry, and education and hospitals. Therefore, this movement of people may lead to excess supply and eventually prices will not rise if it implements the restrictions. Thus, without knowing the scope of the claim, this approach of the council cannot be considered accurately to predict the rise in prices.

Finally, are Chestnut and Maple not comparable? In other words, the council has assumed that despite the implementation of restriction on housing, price had not risen, but the Chestnut and Maple are distinguishable on the basis of their characteristics, therefore, rejected the claim of proponents. However, it may find that Chestnut had similar number of industries, jobs, and economic opportunities and same number of population 10 years ago as it is today with Maple. Thus, price would increase surely. Further, it may also find that Chestnut had available farmland 10 years ago for further development, thus, restrictions stemmed the price rise. Hence, the restrictions, if imposed in Maple may not result in what has been predicted since it has existing farmland to be developed. Thus, if any of these conditions were true, then the claim is significantly weakened.

While concluding, with the lack of comprehensive chain of reasoning, the claim as it stands now, is unpersuasive. If the council if able to offer more answers perhaps in the form of research study covering income level of residents, their inclination towards buying property, rise in number of population and rise in economic opportunities, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the claim.