The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation by the manager of a radio station states the change in format from rock music to news and talk format because this format is popular and there is a decline in listeners of rock music despite increase in population growth. However, the argument does not make a cogent case since it is rife with holes and unverified assumptions. Before the argument can be properly evaluated, following evidences must be collected.

First of all, will new format reverse the trend? In other words, is it justified to assume that if a radio station adopts a new format, it will increase the listeners? It may be futile. For instance, it may happen that if this radio station adopts the suggested new format, but it fails to attract listeners because transition of people listening to this new format on the existing station to new one is not certain. Further, it may also happen that residents of this city may not willing to listen to either of these two formats and may like to listen some other types of entertainment like documentaries. If any of the above examples are true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, will the people moving to this location like news format? In other words, it is correct to assume that people who are moving to this location are willing to listen to news format? It may be spurious. For instance, it may happen that this bunch of people may willing to rock-music only since they are of old age given their retirement, therefore, may like to listen to rock music to relive their younger age. Further, it may be unconventional to assume that people will keep moving to this location and will continue to like news format. Since it may happen that increase in population growth is only occasional and it may cease to happen after few months and these people may like to listen everything but news format. If any of the above instance hold merit, then the argument does not hold the water.

Third, do existing population not like rock music? In other words, it is appreciable to assume that existing listeners are unwilling to listen to rock music. It may be unverified. For instance, it may happen that these people may willing to listen to the current format but may switch to its competitors because of some prize or competitions might have associated with the listening. Further, it is also incorrect to assume that existing listeners will also like new format since it may happen that these people may not like new format but may stop listening existing format because this radio station airs commercials beyond the tolerance levels of the listeners. Unless the memorandum is verified and reliable, it is not possible to effectively support the argument of the manager.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed since it is based on several unwarranted assumptions. If the manager is able to provide above evidences and offer more validations perhaps in the form of market research about preference of listeners, then it will be possible to check the viability of the recommendation.