The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author posits that online degree programs will help Humana University in increasing their enrollments and will help in solving their money problems. However, the author’s reasoning is based on flawless assumptions. Therefore, the argument is weak and unconvincing.

Firstly, the author claims that the number of students was increased by 50 percent last year but we don’t know what is the absolute count of the students. For example, what if the total number of students enrolled before last year was 10 and then the count was increased by 50 percent. It means that the number of students enrolled in online degree programs is still 30. Also, there are chances that there are more than 300 students in the classroom programs which is more than 10 times of online programs. Therefore, the narrator failed to take the absolute number of students in the account due to which the argument remains invalid.

Secondly, the passage states that the costs of classroom space and dormitory were decreased from the previous year due to the increment and gain in popularity of the online programs which is conducted on the internet. But we don’t have a reason to believe that this would be the case. There are chances that University is doing the cost-cutting and due to that, they are using the old furniture and equipment which they renewed last time. The other reason we can think of is that Christmas was near-by, so they might have received a charity from a lot of people who wants to donate to the University.

Lastly, the writer claims that due to these online programs, the number of enrollments was not increased. However, the author didn’t consider the other reason for not getting enough students. The University is facing competition from other universities. There are 3 more colleges in the town which are much better than Humana University in terms of Infrastructure, Tuition Fees and professors. Moreover, the college is not facing the budget deficit due to less number of students enrolled. There was a news that vice president of the college did the corruption which hampers the college funds. Also, the reputation of the college has gone down since then.

The argument would be strengthened if the author clearly mentions about the correct number of the students enrolled, the competition face due to other colleges, and the corruption made by the vice president.

In conclusion, the less number of students enrolled and the budget deficit is not due to online degree programs, but due to various other reasons mentioned above. Therefore, the argument is ill-minded.