Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every nation has a lot of major as well as minor cities and every city is unique in its own way irrespective of size. Every city has a different cultural traditions and the government must ensure that each city should be financially sounded to preserve their cultural traditions, so I partially disagree with the author’s reasoning that major cities must be funded because they represents nation’s cultural traditions.

A vast country, like India, has over 30 states and more than 4000 cities. Every city has a different cultural traditions. For example, a city like Kolkata has a lot of Bengalis whose cultural traditions are totally different than the people living in New Delhi or Mumbai. If the government is funding the major cities, the other cities would lose their charm and their culture would eventually diminish, so the government must ensure that they should fund all the cities and not just the major cities.

There are many more concerns than just preserving the nation’s cultural traditions. The most important thing which every individual needs is food, water and shelter. The government should focus more on these things rather than focusing on preserving cultural traditions. The government should focus more on providing funds to the major cities to develop them, to have more advanced technologies, to have proper roads and sanitation. What’s the point of providing funds to the major cities to preserve cultural traditions when the people’s basic needs doesn’t meet?

Preserving the cultural traditions is important but the government shouldn’t be biased and focus more on major cities and neglect smaller/minor cities. Every city deserves to be equally preserved and the funds should be allocated to all the cities equally. Also, the government should focus more on basic needs of the people rather than just preserving cultural traditions. In conclusion, the government should provide the financial support to all the cities and not just major cities.