The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States. Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

The author states that since everybody has access to write blogs about politics, so quality of the political exposure will eventually decline in the United states. I am totally disagree with the author’s point of view because the author makes an assumption that due to emergence of online Blogosphere, most of the people writes their opinions about politics and everybody reads their opinions through this online tool. Also, the author states that standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline because everybody has got access to publish their opinions online but the author fails to mention the key points.

Firstly, the author assumes that the whoever writes the blog or use social media, everybody reads their blog. What if your blog/post has a few followers and people don’t agree with their opinion on Political stance. I would agree with the author if he/she mentions about the type of bloggers people follow or reads their opinions. For example, a famous Political blogger , David Bucherman has 10 million followers for his blogs. He writes about political nuances like every companigns and meetings held by political parties. People read their blogs and changes their opinions.so, if the author would have explicitly mentioned about the kind of people who influences the political exposure, I would have agreed with the author.

Secondly, the standard for covering news will not be degraded by the online blogs and social media. The power of visualisation is always greater than the power of reading. Social Media and online blogs can’t match the the unbiased opinions provide through the news channel. Recently, the Bloomsberg provides the comparison data between the number of people’s opinions affected by the News channel and the famous bloggers. The result clearly states that the people are not affected by the bloggers opinions. They are still influenced by the opinions of the news channel.

In conclusion, the political discussion doesn’t get affected by the emergence of online blogs and social media. The political debate is totally based on news coverage rather than online blogs.