The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States. Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline. Write a response in which you examine your own position on the statement. Explore the extent to which you either agree or disagree with it, and support your reasoning with evidence and/or examples. Be sure to reflect on ways in which the statement might or might not be true, and how this informs your thinking on the subject.

Has the emergence of blogosphere and social media abated the quality of political discourse in the United States? The speaker, here, agrees to it and believes that if people can express their opinion easily via blogs and social media, standards for covering news and political topics will definitely decline. I, however, believe that this is not quite true and that there is still a need for good quality discourse and news coverage. There are many reasons like quality of discussions and the speed and ease of sharing ideas online.

Firstly, just by blogging or posting views online, does not make a discussion about the topic easy. Doing so only helps to express one’s personal views. If someone wants to point out ideas otherwise, they have to express it in comments which is in my case not a very effective way to share ideas. Blogs and social media are not be a proper medium where there can be good quality discussions and news coverage.

Secondly, to have a good quality discussion, there should be people with different views discussing their opinions together. For example, discussion events on news channels, etc. make this possible where different politicians can come together and express their different views. Even different organizations have board meetings where members having different opinions can express their ideas and together can contribute much effectively to the organization as a whole.

Some people can say that one can write and express their ideas better in a written way, that’s true but ‘only upto a certain extant’. Expressing ideas orally is much faster than writing blogs and comments and then waiting for another person to respond back. One cannot convey their messages easily and completely on the social media.

In conclusion, I disagree with the author’s beliefs and would say that good quality discussions and news coverage would always be required.