The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the article, the author states that according to a survey conducted, it was observed that the executives who reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep had profit margins and faster growth compared to those executives who needed more than 6 hours of sleep. The article, according to the results of this survey suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only those people who need less than 6 hours of sleep. However, to me, this argument seems baseless since it is based on a lot of assumptions and do not give enough convincing information.

Firstly, the basis of the survey conducted is not mentioned in the article. It is entirely possible that those few advertising firms, that were a part of this survey showed this pattern where the executives needed less than 6 hours of sleep and even then the firms were highly profitable and successful. It is possible that in those successful advertising firms, which were not a part of this survey, most executives reported needing more than 6 hours of sleep. And without proper information, it is not wise to blindly assume that firms where employees need less than 6 hours of sleep are more successful.

Secondly, the article also does not give the information about how many year’s results of these advertising firms were taken into consideration. It is possible that the firms which showed these results were profitable only in the years that were considered in the survey. It may be that these firms suffered a loss in their business in the earlier years. So, it is not safe again to consider the results of this survey unless more information about these firms’ earlier years’ results are not provided.

Thirdly, it is possible that the advertising firms under study had a bigger reach in the market already, and they were successful. So, it is also not a good decision to assume the results of this survey unless more information, about the before and after market reach of these firms are provided. It is possible that those advertising firms which has a small reach in the market and where the employees need less than 6 hours of sleep were not that successful.

As generally seen in various scientific studies, those people who have less sleep are mostly not able to concentrate properly in their work, which directly links them to less output and low success rate, and to low profits or loss. So, it is not wise to base any decision according to the results of the survey mentioned in the article, until more convincing information and further facts are not provided. It may be possible that if some other business hires employees who need less than 6 hours of sleep only, the firm or the business organization might not do well and might not have high success rate as would have been expected. Instead, firms must hire employees with good skills and try to maintain a healthy work atmosphere, to have good overall success.