The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove

In the opinion provided that appeared in the letter to the editor of the national aeronautics magazine, the speaker clearly states that manned space flight is costly and dangerous, and the resources should be invested more on unmanned space flights rather than doing so for manned space flights. In further supporting their statement the author also states about the recent success of unmanned satellites and probes that do not have the risks and costs associated with carrying humans in space. However, I am not entirely convinced with these statements’ assertions as there are no factual data provided along with these assertions in support and looks like a lot of assumptions are taken into consideration. Also these assertions themselves are not convincing enough, so as to provide a basis for some decisions upon them.

Firstly, it is assumed that manned space flights are costly and dangerous. It is also possible that the unmanned space flights turn out to be costlier since there is a lot of use of high-end technology involved in sending these automated probes and flights to space. Also, it is also possible that due to some technical error in these automated system that occur in space, the data received on Earth is faulty. Now, if some important decision were to be taken based on this faulty data, it might turn out to be a big problem, and thus there are many such dangers involved even with unmanned space flights. Since, no concrete facts are provided further in support of this statement, it should be considered that the author just assumed that manned space flights are costly and dangerous compared to the unmanned ones.

Secondly, even though agreeing that there are certain risks associated with sending humans in space, it is not considered by the author of the letter that there are many risks associated with even the unmanned space flights. It is not true that every unmanned space flight that went into space was successful. There are cases where even these unmanned space flights stopped responding back or sent some data that was irregular, or got into some other technical problem while in space. So, it is clearly seen that the author just assumed that the unmanned space crafts are always successful in their job.

Along with this, there are certain information that only humans are able to evaluate properly and are not in the scope of machines. Machines, till now, are only able to send pictures and provide physical data about the atmosphere in which they are present.

In conclusion, I would say that the author of this letter based their assertions on various assumptions without considering proper facts and figures, and thus this letter is not convincing enough to take the decision to stop sending manned flights into space.