"There is no such thing as purely objective observation. All observation is subjective; it is always guided by the observer's expectations or desires."

The author here believes that there is nothing like purely objective observation and that whatever a person is related to some emotions or is subjective. I somewhat agree with this assertion and feels this is true very often. But, I also believe that this case may not be true ‘always’.

We observe, in fact, most of the things in a subjective way. We connect some emotion, to that observation, which could originate from anything. Sometimes, people relate the current scene of observation to a previous observation or experience. Now, whenever we see something similar, our mind recollects our previous experience and exhume what emotion we attested to that experience before. Our brain then links this emotion to the current scene of observation, thus providing a subjective perspective. A good example of this case could be when you are presented a scene of a malnourished kid. Your brain recollects a previous scene in which you saw a malnourished kid, and that you felt sad and full of pity at that time. Now this emotion again gets linked to the current scene and you observe this scene with a morose and pitiful emotion, and so, this observation becomes subjective.

Sometimes, we see something that is a new experience, but, related to someone or something you know. Your brain would then observe this scene in respect to what emotion you had for that person or thing. For example, if you see something that reminds you of your good old friend, then you will see that object or scene with an emotion which was related to that friend, and thus, this observation would be subjective.

However, this is not always the case. In conditions where the scene of observation is totally new, and, no part of it is reminiscent to you, then you would have a totally objective observation. Say for example, an employee working in an office faces a totally unfamiliar situation, and none of that it reminds the employee of something or someone. This employee would now observe this situation with a totally objective perception, and, would try to analyse and understand it. Then, after an objective observation would this employee link an emotion to this situation, which could then be used by brain for future subjective observations.

Another good example could be a detective studying a crime scene or a judge taking a decision in court. These people have to make their mind free from subjective emotions to take a proper observation, or a fair decision. In this case, even if the brain of these people adds some emotion to the scene, they have to keep it aside, to be fair to themselves and to others and study the case with an objective view.

So, in conclusion, I think that most often, an observation is subjective, as somehow our brain links some emotions with that scene, but, there can be cases where an observation is, or has to be totally objective. The type of observation, thus, totally depends on the particular case for that particular person.