People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The author of the statement asserts that those people, who take decisions emotionally, and then try to justify those decisions based on logic, are poor decision makers. I agree with the author's assertion and myself feel that these kind of people are not ideal decision makers.

There are some people, who do not think practically about the decisions they are taking. They just take those decisions based on how they feel at that time and when they are asked about it, they try to give some logic as an explanation. Usually it happens that these decisions go wrong, or are not an optimal solution to the problem.

For example, consider a student who was about to go abroad for further studies in a very reputed university, but due to becoming emotional having to leave his family, decides to cancel that decision and joins a local university. This person took his decision based solely on his emotions at that time and it was not practical. When asked about it, he would rather give explanations like the place was not good or there are better universities nearby, etc.

Although these emotional decisions might have felt good at that time, they usually become a cause for regret to the decision makers later on, when they realize that they should have thought practically. It is possible that emotions can change over time, but it is rarely possible that the subjective decisions taken earlier could be changed or reversed. Continuing the example above, even if that student later feels that he took a bad decision, he still could not reverse his decision.

So, in conclusion, I would again agree with the authors decision that people who take decisions based on emotions are not good decision makers. They may later on try to give logical reasoning for their decision, but it wouldn't change the fact that their decision was not practical. Rather than regretting later on, it would be better to take decisions practically.