Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the given statement taken from a memo from the marketing director of Super Screen Movie Product Company, the director presents a lot of facts. The director states that in the past year, a less number of people attended the Super Screen-produced movies, than in any other year. The director also states that the percentage of positive reviews from movie reviewers, of some of these movies, increased in the last year. Therefore the director asserts that the problem is not that the movie quality is good but that people are unaware that such good quality movies are made by Super Screen company. The director also suggested that for the next year Super Screen movies should spend a greater budget in advertising thus reaching more public. However, in my opinion, these suggestions and assertions are based on a lot of assumptions and more facts should be provided by the advertising director to support their point of view.

Firstly, it is possible that the report from which the advertising director made their conclusions about the number of people attending Super Screen-produced movie is incomplete or partial. May be the marketing team considered only few movies from the past years in their surveys and not all movies. May be the reports considered the results of movie screening of only some area and not everywhere the Super Screen movies are shown. Therefore the director should have confirmed the scope of observations from which the report was made before assuming that the report is for all movies and for for all screens where the Super Screen-produced movies were shown.

Secondly, the it is also possible that the content of these movies are not good and that is why people are not seeing these movies. Although, it is stated that the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers increased, it is possible that a lot of reviewers actually did not gave positive reviews but these reviews were not taken into consideration while making the report. It is also stated that the percentage of positive review increased for 'specific movies'. Now, it is totally possible that the number of these 'specific reviews' are less and the number of movies that got a bad review are more. Therefore, the director should also confirm from the marketing department that the report consisted of all the movies' reviews, before assuming so.

Also, the director assumes that the public is not aware of the good quality content of Super Screen-produced movies but it is again possible that people are actually aware of these movies but are hesitant to see them, because they feel that the content is not good. It is also a good enough chance that if in the next year, Super Screen movies do not make good quality movies, people will still not see them, even if the company increases it's budget for advertising.

Thus, in conclusion, I am not entirely convinced from the facts stated in the memo, and the advertising director should provide more facts and convincing information to support their observations and suggestions.