Sometimes imagination is a more valuable asset than experience. People who lack experience are free to imagine what is possible and thus can approach a task without constraints of established habits and attitudes.

The author here believes that sometimes imagination has more value than experience, asserting that those people who lack experience are free to imagine whatever they think is possible and can do some task without constraints of established habits and attitudes. I agree here with the author’s assertion that ‘sometimes’, this is true. However, I also believe there are many cases where experience and a set of established constraints are more valuable than imagination.

It is true, that a person with a limited experience can approach some task without any established habits or attitudes. There are many cases where being creative and imaginative turns out to be more valuable than having an experience. Consider a novelist, for example, who is writing a fictional novel. Now this novelist of course should have a good experience in writing novels, to effectively communicate their story to the readers. But, more importantly, this novelist needs to have a really good imagination. If the story is not something new or creative, it won’t be loved that much by the readers, and since, the story is fictional, it totally is depended on the imagination of the novelist

Another example, could be a fictional movie director who has to imagine how to shoot scenes in a way that would look good on screen. Here also, imagination plays more important role than experience in film making. Similarly, a painter needs to have more imagination than just being experienced. There are a lot of cases throughout history, where even novice have produced such a great work which the experience were not able to do. These beginners certainly lack experience, but they definitely do not lack imagination.

However, there are also numerous cases where experience plays a far more crucial role than imagination. Imaginative things are very much prone to errors, since they are not guided by a set of established habits and conventions. Only an experienced person can take help from their knowledge in an efficient and a systematic way. A scientist, for example, cannot conduct experiments simply because they imagined something will come up. They need to apply their experience and knowledge in a proper manner to really find something useful.

Similarly, in making a business strategy, experience plays a much important role than imagination. Here, a domain expert needs to apply their experience and skills to make a good business strategy. They need to follow a systematic approach with predefined habits that came from experience. If they rely on imagination, they might end up being the reason for the loss in business.

Therefore, in conclusion, I would agree with the assertion that ‘sometimes’ imagination is more valuable than experience, and, can approach a task without a set of pre-established habits and attitudes. But, there certainly are many cases where experience is a must have and is actually more important than imagination.