The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University.

"Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged

students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega

professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade

averages at Omega have risen by thirty percent. Potential employers apparently believe the

grades at Omega are inflated; this would explain why Omega graduates have not been as

successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its

graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should now terminate student evaluation of

professors."

This argument is presented by the dean at Omega University, who is really concerned about the less number of placements of students from their university. According to him, their university follows a procedure in which students grade their teachers and the dean implies that this is the reason for the modicum amount of placements from their university. To bolster their reason, the dean has also provided some facts and evidences. However, this argument is based on a lot of unattended assumptions, vague terminologies and lack of proper evidences.

Firstly, the author mentions the 15 year old procedure of students grading their professors and implies that because of this, the teachers have started giving higher grades to students which have resulted in increase in the average grades of students. On stating this fact, the author clearly assumes that students’ performance have been the same before and after the implementation of this procedure. It is entirely possible that after the implementation of this procedure, the students’ performance had actually improved.

Secondly, the author has provided insufficient evidence to support their claim. It is mentioned that it has been 15 years since this procedure was started, and the students’ placement has been effected because of that. In saying this, the dean just assumes that in the last 15 years, university placements have been low. Logically, if a university knows that because of a certain procedure, the placements’ success rate decreased, then why would they continue the procedure for straight 15 years? It is not mentioned that from the last 15 years, the placements from the university have been less successful.

The dean also mentions that less students are getting jobs. It is also entirely possible that the actually less people are interested in doing jobs after their graduation. Maybe many of them want to further studies or want to do some different kind of work. Also, it is possible that the job opportunities provided to the students of Omega University is less and that is why only some students are able to get their jobs.

To support their claim, the dean mentioned a nearby university’s students being more successful in getting jobs. However, it is possible that the number of students in the nearby university are more, or, they are getting better job opportunities, or, they are more interested in getting jobs. If any of these reasons are true, then it would be improper to compare the job placement success of these universities. Thus, the students of nearby university being more ‘successful’ in getting a job is somehow a vague fact.

To make this argument more credible and convincing, the dean must do further research. It would be good to study the conditions of the university placement of the past 15 years since this student evaluation procedure have been implemented. Also, the dean should gather more details about the placements and students of the nearby university, from a verifiable source, to have a just comparison between the two universities.

Overall, the argument lacks convincing evidences and is based on a plethora of assumptions. The author of the argument must do further study and research to make this argument more compelling and convincing.