"Creating an appealing image has become more important in contemporary society than is the reality or truth behind that image."

The speaker of this statement clearly believes that in today’s world, people focus more on how they or things appear in front of others, rather than showing what the reality is. I totally am in accord with this assertion and believe that people just want to appear in a way that they think could be beneficial to them. These people may be mentally broken or ill-willed, or have some characters because of which people may avoid being with them.

Take an example of a typical politician, who, to gain votes try to look good in front of people, tries to show how much good work he has done or can do. But the reality is majority of these politicians have some bad history behind them. Some of them have committed crimes, some of them are corrupt, and some want to just gain fame or money. There are very few politicians who actually want to do something good for the people and do not hesitate to show their real face. No wonder why, people nowadays do not really want to believe what these politicians say in their campaigns.

Another example of people showing apparent nature can be students in schools or colleges. To become popular and appealing, and to gain respect from fellow students, they try to look very modest, sophisticated and cool, but in reality do not have such qualities and therefore do not have many friends. Some students also try to appear hardworking, smart and attentive in front of their teachers to gain attention and good grades, but may not really have these qualities.

Another very good example can be people’s factitious behaviour in social circles. Most people just want to look happy and appealing to others, while, the reality is most of these people are having various problems, depressions, stress, etc.

Sometimes, they feel that looking appealing can take them ahead of people in the race. But if you really pay attention, all successful and great people have one important quality backing them that is their ‘real’ nature. The successful people about whom we read in magazines or newspaper and hear every now and then in television, etc., do not really pay attention to their apparent image in front of others, but they focus on how their image is in their mind. On the other hand, people who try to appear different from what they really are, eventually show their real image to the world, which often causes them to lose all the respect or good-will they deserved.

In conclusion, I agree with the speaker’s assertion and believe that its best when a person keeps their real self in front of others. This kind of behaviour encourages a veracious relationship between individuals. Being real always, also have other merits, like – someone might help you out of your problem, or guide you through it.