The author believes that even though most people are taught that loyalty is a virtue, it is most often destructive than is positive. I, however, only slightly agree with the author’s beliefs and I feel that there are many cases where loyalty served out to be constructive. I think that it is dependent on various factors like – the persons involved, the conditions, the merit or demerit of being loyal, etc.

There are many cases where being loyal is destructive. Such a case usually occurs when the person or the idea being followed is destructive itself. For example, consider a person who is loyal to a group of thieves. Now this person although being loyal, promotes destruction. He might have good relations with his teammates, the robbery might be beneficial to him for the time, but in the long run, when this person is caught, his loyalty to a wrong idea becomes destructive for him and his family.

There are, however, many cases where loyalty is constructive. Cases where the person or idea being followed is good, often results in benefits for those who are loyal. For example, consider a freedom fighter who is loyal to his nation. This person is loyal to a noble cause and although being loyal to his country may sometimes be destructive to him, in the long run, this person does a constructive work for his country and all its citizen.

Loyalty, in my opinion, should always be taught as a virtue if the cause is good. Doing so helps a person to get good morals.

So, in conclusion, I would like to restate my view that, loyalty can be both – constructive and destructive. It depends on the situation how it goes out in the end. I also believe that loyalty should be continued to be taught as a virtue as it facilitates moral upbringing of a person.