The following was written as a part of an application for a small business loan by a group of

developers in the city of Monroe.

"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the

nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, our proposed club, the C Note, would have the local

market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended

Monroe's jazz festival last summer, several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe, and the

highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Finally, a

nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz

entertainment. It is clear that the C Note cannot help but make money."

Recently, an application was proposed, to get loan for opening a jazz club, by a group of developers in the city of Monroe. Regarding this matter, the author of the application concluded that opening of a new jazz club in Monroe would be a highly profitable and money-making business. Various evidences and facts are provided to support the proposal that include the distance to the nearest jazz club, popularity of jazz in Monroe on the basis of a jazz festival, living of several jazz musicians in Monroe, popularity of a jazz radio show and some data from a nation-wide survey. Although, the argument seems to be rife with flaws like lack of relevant evidence, unattended assumptions and vague terminologies.

The argument provides several facts but they all have lack of evidence. Firstly, it is stated that the distance of the nearest jazz club is 65 miles, and that would mean opening a jazz club in Monroe will get all the local market. There is no evidence to support the fact that the other jazz club considered is also successful. Also it assumed that the people of Monroe are really interested in going to a jazz club or listening to jazz music. Maybe people of Monroe are more interested in other music genres, than in jazz.

Another fact provided is the great number of people who attended previous year’s jazz festival in Monroe. However, the argument again lacks proper evidence and assumes that majority of those people were of Monroe. It is entirely possible that the major part of the crowd was from nearby places, and there was only a small number of people from Monroe who attended the festival.

The author also mentions the fact that there are several well-known jazz musicians who are the denizens of Monroe, and indirectly implies that this fact will help to bring people in their proposed club. This is a very vague fact, since the author does not mention what number is ‘several’. Also, it is unnecessarily assumed that because some people in Monroe are pursuing a career in jazz, other people are also that much interested in jazz. Also it is not mentioned that these artists would be performing in this jazz club, so that they could help in bringing audience. Simply their living in the same city does not as such implies anything.

Further facts are provided to support the argument like a jazz show being the most popular show among all the radio shows. There is also a possibility that other shows are not really that good and that’s why this jazz show is highest rated among them. Also only radio shows are considered here, and maybe music shows of other genres are aired on televisions, that are more popular than this jazz show.

Lastly, a fact is stated from a nation-wide study that a typical jazz fan spends $1000 per year on jazz entertainment. However, the audience of this study is not specified. Maybe the people considered in this study were financially sound, but it is not that every jazz fan around the country is economically stable so as to spend $1000 on just jazz entertainment, thus this fact also has a lack of evidence.

Also, it is a general human tendency to get bored from something after some time and since listening to jazz music is a hobby for people and not a necessity, it is possible that people lose interest in going to the jazz club after some time.

Since, this argument has a lot of flaws in it, doing more research and gathering more data from verified sources could help the author in correcting them. Also, the author might find more evidences and facts to support their claim.

Thus, in conclusion, this argument lacks proper evidences, has some vague terminologies and is based on a lot of assumptions. The author should do more research to clear out these flaws and propose a more convincing and compelling argument.