"The video camera provides such an accurate and convincing record of contemporary life that

it has become a more important form of documentation than written records."

The speaker here states that the video camera is such a device that can provide accurate and convincing records of anything in today’s world and that it has become a more important form of documentation that written records. However, I feel that the speaker has overstated the importance of video camera. According to me, a video camera is an important documenting device but there are many cases in which it is of no use. Also, the assertion that video recordings are more important than written records for documentation feels inaccurate to me. There are various cases in which video recording is not possible or of little use.

Video camera can definitely produce more accurate record of the events that are visible. It can record word by word conversation or dialogues of the person/people in focus. It can give better details and in a more convincing way than written records. It can show the background in which an event occurred, or how it occurred. Also, it can give another dimension to those events in ways which could not be expressed in written formats. Moreover, video recordings can show the intensity with which an event occurred, like – how violent was the storm yesterday or how much the crowd was excited in a recent football match.

Video recordings are faster than written documents, in providing information. It can be used in numerous cases where the need is to record, store and replay a chain of events. Consider the case of a cricket match where the on-field umpire is unable to take a decision. In such a case, video recordings have proven to be of great importance, since, they can accurately replay the event many times. If there would have been a written record describing the event it would be inappropriate to take a decision based on this record, since, it could lead to a lot of controversies.

However, there is a drawback in video recorded documents, that – to record an event in video, the event should occur physically and be visible, that is, only events that can be seen could be recorded. If the object of interest is not visible, then there is no way in which that can be documented as a video. For example, when a novelist imagines a scene, that scene cannot be recorded as a video since it never actually occurred. Such scene can only be recorded in written form. Similarly, any imagination or any idea cannot be video recorded directly without the help of a certain physical medium.

Video recordings are also of no use, where numeric data or statistical data is considered. For example, in a movie theatre, if the manager asks how many people came to watch movies, it would be really inappropriate to see the video of people entering the theatre, from start to end, in order to get a count of people. In such a case, having a written record would be really helpful as it can provide data instantly. Another example could be where a farmer keeps his record of how much kilograms of grain is ready to be sold. Now this record could be measured and recorded in written format but it would be awkward to record a video of farmer measuring the weight of grain that could provide data in future.

Also talking in technical terms, video recording takes up a lot of storage, and recording video for trifling things would be way costlier than recording them in written format. So video recordings should only be done in those cases, where keeping the video is worth the storage cost, else, it would be really better to have written records.

In conclusion, I would state my point that in some cases, video recording may prove to be of utmost importance but in certain scenarios, keeping written records are far more beneficial than keeping video records and hence, the speakers’ assertion that video records are more important than written records is not always true.