The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the statements present in the memorendum, a business manager of a television station states that there has been a decline to the time devoted to weather and local news by the late night shows aired on the televisions over the past year. This according to the manager has resulted in an increase in complaints by the viewers regarding the less amount of weather and local news showed in these late night shows. Also, the manager stated that many local businesses have cancelled their advertising contract because of the same reason. The manager therefore suggested that in order to increase the numberof viewers and to avoid losing further advertising revenues, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. However, according to me these statements are not convincing enough and appears to be based on a lot of assumptions.

Firstly, there has been no information provided by the business manager regarding the viewership, complaints and advertising contracts of the previous years. It may be possible that the viewers also gave a lot of complaints even when the weather and local news were showed more in the previous years. It is also possible that the viewers are not happy with the 'content that is showed in these local and weather news,rather than the 'amount of content' that is shown, and therefore it is assumed by the business manager that the viewrs are not happy because of the less amount of local and weather news shown to them.

Secondly, it is also assumed by the business manager that the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contract because of the same reason of less airing of local and weather news. It is also possible that the businesses cancelled their advertising contracts because they do not rely much on television advertising or maybe that they are well enough renowed now, and therefore do not need that much television advertising that they did in previous years. The business manager must therefore get proper information first about why local businesses are cancelling their advertising contracts and then make a judgement.

Thirdly, no information is provided about the complaints and advertising revenues gained during late night shows by other television stations in the same region. It is totally possible that the same case might not be there in other television stations, and they do not get much complaints regarding the weather and local news from the viewers and they might also still have advertising contracts with different local businesses, even after reducing the amount of weather and local news aired. Thus it cannot be assumed that less content of local and weather news is the reason of viewers complaints and less revenues from advertising.

In conclusion, I would say that the information presented in the memorendum is not complete, and further facts and convincing information should be provided by the manager to support their observations and suggestions.