"Scientific theories, which most people consider as 'fact: almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as 'factual' with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future."

The speaker here states that, scientific theories which people consider as facts are almost always proven to be false. Also, the speaker asserts that one should always consider these so called ‘facts’ with scepticism since these can be proven erroneous in future. I agree with the speaker to some extent, but I also believe that this assertion is too strong. There are many cases in my opinion, where these so called facts turned out to be accurate.

There are many cases throughout history, where these ‘facts’ that once were believed to be true my majority of people turned out to be false. The earlier people made theories based on the technology and knowledge limited to that time. These theories, however, were later proved to be inaccurate by people who conducted experiments with better knowledge and technologies. One such example can be that ancient people believed the earth to be flat. They believed this because they were not able to see any curve on the horizon. However, later as we all know, this theory was refuted and it was established that the earth is round as proved by some scientists and sailors.

Another great example can be that people once believed that our solar system is geocentric, that is, the other heavenly bodies revolved around the Earth. People believed this because they thought since an object vertically thrown up in the air comes back to the same spot, and not on a different position, Earth was stable, and so other planets and stars moved around it. Again, this was proven false, as we know, and it was shown by later scientists that our solar system is instead heliocentric.

However, there are also many cases where the scientific theories and facts were proven to be true with the help of various experiments and also some later experiments were based on these earlier facts. Let’s take the example of the finding of gravity by Sir Isaac Newton. It was theorized by Newton that there is a force of Earth called gravity, which pulled objects towards it. This theory was proven to be true later on, and now it is used as a base in many different theories.

Therefore, in conclusion, I would say that the speaker’s assertions are not entirely true and the accuracy of the scientific facts and theories depends on various factors like – source and technology used behind.