"Scientific theories, which most people consider as 'fact,' almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as 'factual' with skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future."

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

Several individuals identify themselves as skeptics; they view everything through a critical lens and do not take any statement at face value. While this is indeed an effective way to prevent the spread of misinformation, skepticism is not always necessary. There are several things to consider when deciding whether or not a statement is factually accurate, such as how much research has been done on this topic, and what the sources of funding for the research were. These factors can help to determine how skeptical an individual may feel about the results.

Several individuals still believe that there is a link between autism and vaccinations. The author of the study in which this link was found has been proven to have fabricated their results. Several attempts at replicating the study failed to elicit the same results as the original study, and several more studies have shown no such link between the two variables. Considering the vast amount of research refuting the findings of the original study, it is reasonable to rationalize that future studies that also come to the same conclusion – that there is no link between autism and vaccinations – are mostly factually accurate and require little to no skepticism upon viewing.

Conversely, there are also situations in which skepticism is valid. If a study demonstrates results that further support the claims of the original study, it is rational to express skepticism about that study. Additionally, sources of funding may skew research results. This is a critical component to consider: if a large pharmaceutical company funds research for a new medication they are selling, it is reasonable to consider how positive results may impact projected sales of that medication for the company. Further, if the research published is the only study that has been conducted on the medication, skepticism is valid in this instance. One may remain skeptical until further studies, which, if funded, are funded by a neutral third party, are conducted. Continuing, if a third-party-funded or independent study is conducted that supports the results of the original study, perhaps the amount of skepticism can be lessened.

Some individuals believe that information must always be viewed with skepticism, since results of research studies often are proven to be inaccurate or incomplete by further studies. While it is certainly beneficial to view these theories and the research behind it with skepticism and to not take everything at face value, some results do not require a skeptical view. It is important to consider the amount of research that has been conducted on the topic the theory is related to, such as the debunked correlation between vaccinations and autism. However, the sources of funding behind research is also relevant to consider; if a pharmaceutical company funds research which demonstrates that a certain medication has certain benefits, considering how these results could impact the company's sales is a considerable cause for skepticism. Thus, a healthy amount of skepticism should be implemented when viewing any research related to research, but the research itself and its results should not be dismissed unless reasons can for a significant amount of skepticism are identified.