The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of the Juniper Café, a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city:

“We must reduce overhead here at the café. Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays, we will now open at 8 a.m. On weekends, we will only be open from 9 a.m. until 4 p.m. The decrease in hours of operations will help save money because we won’t be paying for utilities, employee wages, or other operating costs during the hours we are closed. This is the best strategy for us to save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument upon which it is based. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of Juniper Café has determined that changes need to be made in order for the company to stay in business without eliminating jobs. The owner’s memorandum suggests adjusting the café’s hours of operation to reduce the amount spent on certain operating costs. While this may seem like a rational solution to the problem, there are other factors to consider. By opening at 8 a.m. rather than 6 a.m. on weekdays, the café is losing the revenue previously gained during those hours. Additionally, there may be employees that have always worked those early hours; the owner will likely need to schedule additional hours for these employees during other times or risk losing them. Finally, the owner needs to consider the change in the flow of consumers throughout the day.

Changing the opening hour from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. removes the possibility for revenue during those hours. If 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. was a busy time for the café, that revenue stream is now eliminated. The owner of the café must consider whether the loss of that revenue will be beneficial long-term for saving the company money. If 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. was the busiest time for the café, it would not be logical to eliminate those hours of operation. In order to ascertain whether or not this action could be beneficial long-term to the company, the café would need to consider what their busiest times are, and what the revenue stream looked like between 6 a.m. and 8 a.m.

Further, employees previously had worked those hours at the café, and now those hours are eliminated from the schedule. If certain employees worked a 6-hour shift starting at 6 a.m. and ending at 12 p.m., a third of their hours are gone, meaning that they are making a third less in wages. The owner must find other hours for the employees of the early morning shift to work or risk the employees leaving the company. However, the owner must also balance the number of hours given to each employee; overcompensating for employees who worked from 6 a.m. to 8 a.m. and infringing on the shifts of other employees who work during the day may also elicit a reduction in wages for the latter. The owner must carefully balance wages and hours to maintain their workforce.

The owner may argue that the consumers who usually came during the hours in which they are now close may just come at a different time instead, and that revenue would not be significantly impacted. For example, an individual who came to the café every day at 7:30 a.m. may simply come at 9:30 a.m. instead. Assuming the owner could somehow guarantee that this would be the case for every consumer in question, it is necessary to consider how the influx of consumers could potentially impact the flow of all consumers throughout the day. For the sake of this example, assume that every consumer who came at 7:30 a.m. now comes at 9:30 a.m. Not only do the employees have to meet the demands of those consumers, but they also must meet the demands of the consumers who already were visiting during that time. That could mean an additional 100 consumers’ needs to meet, and employees may become overwhelmed. In that instance, additional employees may need to be working during that shift, which in turn means that more wages are being paid. The owner needs to consider whether paying additional employee wages to compensate for busy hours outweighs the amount of money potentially saved by changing hours.

The owner of Juniper Café has identified the need for change and has developed an initial solution to the problem. However, it seems they may have failed to consider several other factors that could be impacted by this change. There is a loss of revenue from the hours in which the café is now closed. Consumers who came during those times may not come at all, or they may come at a later time which could result in additional staffing needs. The needs of the employees, including the hours they work and their wages, must also be considered. These factors must be reviewed fully before any definitive change is made to the operating hours of Juniper Café.