Scientific theories, which most people consider as "fact," almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as "factual" with skepticism since it may be proven false in the future.

The notion of facts in science is rooted in protocols that ensure we get as close to the truths of nature in the most effective and unbiased manner—even if pinpointing facts requires a lengthy journey down a road of repetitive testing and revisions to well-established theories. As purveyors of information in an increasingly content-accessible world, we shouldn’t be skeptical of facts as that’s an extreme form of thinking, we should better understand how the scientific method works in giving weight to theories, and we should understand approximation (or getting as close as possible) to the truth is a good starting point to understanding the world around us.

First, it’s important to understand skepticism is healthy when learning about new topics. It’s important to ask questions when we don’t understand a problem or wonder if it makes sense in certain contexts. However, skepticism of all factual information can become a serious fault in thinking. Consider historical events, where facts can be held with high authority. One example of a fact learned from history is the dangers of nuclear radiation brought upon the people in Nagasaki and Hiroshima after the dropping of the atomic bombs in World War II. Those horrific events led to peace treaties and halts on nuclear bomb production. Being skeptical of facts related to this event and the dangers of nuclear radiation would be dangerous for the skeptic and anyone the skeptic attempts to convince otherwise of the facts.

Second, the scientific method provides us with a long-successful protocol to ensure scientists arrive to sound conclusions when experimenting and ultimately forming theories. A common theory that seems almost perfect at first glance is Isaac Newton’s theory of gravity. It’s well understood from even the youngest students, and it’s still held in high regard from the most professional physicists in the world. Even so, Albert Einstein, Stephen Hawking, and other prominent scientists have continued to experiment and attach more nuances to the theory. Einstein’s theory of relativity shows that gravity isn’t just some force, but a warping of space and time. Hawking takes gravity even further and shows us how the rest of physics breaks down as we near highly gravitational celestial bodies, such as black holes. Hypothesizing, testing, and theorizing create the basis of the scientific method that bring us closer and closer to truths and facts, which are not inaccuracies.

Although lots of scientific inquiry helps build upon established theories, there are instances where science seems to flip flop. Take health food studies as an example. One year, coffee is deemed a super food and excellent for the metabolism. The very next year, researchers find out that coffee promotes weight gain and excessive dehydration. These kinds of studies make it seem like scientific theories and ideas shouldn’t be taken seriously. But what is really happening is researchers find out about the nuances of phenomena, especially in food, because they affect different aspects of life. Coffee may indeed be good for metabolism, but if consumed in excess, it might cause extreme dehydration and weight gain. Each study on coffee will bring science closer to understanding the exact benefits it has, ultimately bringing us closer to the facts about coffee.

By understanding that there are facts backed by good authority and how science is a repetitive test of ideas will help people better understand that facts take time. It’s not that they are inaccurate; it’s the fact that the scientific process ensures that facts come as close to the truth as possible.